Sacramento has become a major destination for Afghan refugees who translated for U.S. troops or otherwise served in the war effort. But California hasn't provided the better life they expected. Marked for death by the Taliban at home, they've endured poverty and violence in Sacramento. "No Safe Place" is a special report coming Sunday in The Sacramento Bee and at Sacbee.com. Jessica Koscielniak McClatchy
Sacramento has become a major destination for Afghan refugees who translated for U.S. troops or otherwise served in the war effort. But California hasn't provided the better life they expected. Marked for death by the Taliban at home, they've endured poverty and violence in Sacramento. "No Safe Place" is a special report coming Sunday in The Sacramento Bee and at Sacbee.com. Jessica Koscielniak McClatchy
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

Local

State jobs, in-state tuition: Refugees could get special breaks in California

May 17, 2017 1:07 PM

Comments

Videos

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert