More Videos

See recovery of high-end mountain bikes after arrest 0:39

See recovery of high-end mountain bikes after arrest

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods 1:10

Unique home buying opportunities in little known Sacramento region neighborhoods

Meet 25 Sacramento-area high school football senior stars 2:02

Meet 25 Sacramento-area high school football senior stars

California's Chief Justice tells ICE to stay out of courtrooms 1:13

California's Chief Justice tells ICE to stay out of courtrooms

49ers spiff up Levi's Stadium 0:38

49ers spiff up Levi's Stadium

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities' 1:33

California new housing shortage on par with 'shrinking rust belt cities'

 Jerry Brown asks: 'Who is the most forgotten soul in California?' 0:47

Jerry Brown asks: 'Who is the most forgotten soul in California?'

Chad Mayes responds to failed vote to oust him as Assembly GOP leader 0:46

Chad Mayes responds to failed vote to oust him as Assembly GOP leader

Where greenhouse gases come from 1:07

Where greenhouse gases come from

Trump rallies base in Arizona 2:53

Trump rallies base in Arizona

  • Liberal protesters, Trump supporters meet at Bera town hall

    Rep. Ami Bera, D-Elk Grove, held a rowdy, but largely supportive, town hall meeting in Sacramento.

Rep. Ami Bera, D-Elk Grove, held a rowdy, but largely supportive, town hall meeting in Sacramento. Alexi Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Rep. Ami Bera, D-Elk Grove, held a rowdy, but largely supportive, town hall meeting in Sacramento. Alexi Koseff The Sacramento Bee
Capitol Alert

Capitol Alert

The go-to source for news on California policy and politics

A Republican Marine Corps veteran is the latest to take on Democratic Rep. Ami Bera

July 06, 2017 6:50 PM

Comments

Advertising

Catherine Bettar
916-321-1083
cbettar@sacbee.com

Capitol Alert staff


Amy Chance
Political editor
achance@sacbee.com
@Amy_Chance

Dan Smith
Capitol bureau chief
smith@sacbee.com
@DanielSnowSmith

Jim Miller
California policy and politics
Capitol Alert editor
jmiller@sacbee.com
@jimmiller2

Christopher Cadelago
California politics
ccadelago@sacbee.com
@ccadelago

Angela Hart
California politics
ahart@sacbee.com
@ahartreports

Alexei Koseff
Legislature
akoseff@sacbee.com
@akoseff

Taryn Luna
lobbying and influence
tluna@sacbee.com
@tarynluna

Twitter
@CapitolAlert

Facebook
@capitolalert